Stages 1-3 Workshop Description

"From Beginning Decoder to Fluent Comprehender" Yrs 1-8

For the first time we are offering a combined workshop covering the first three stages of SharpReading. We think this gives the teacher a better overview of SharpReading and provides them with all the tools they need to cope with primary schools aged children from Y1-Yr8.
The reality is that the Year 1-3 teacher is going to need all three stages, and the Yr 4-8 teacher, while mainly focussing on Stage 3 and above, will always have some students who are still struggling with decoding and need Stage 2.

Stages 1 and 2: 'The Five Bits' (Mastering Decoding)
A key to developing fluent decoders is 'managing the challenge'. We need to ensure that our beginning readers are managed through the potentially discouraging bottlenecks that occur as the 
mental effort of decoding collides with the need to construct meaning. SharpReading Stages 1 and 2 provides simple solutions to this which ensure our readers meet with success and develop a lifelong passion for reading.

Stage 3  'The 3 Steps' (Constructing Meaning - the foundation for effective Comprehension)
For readers who have developed some fluency with decoding now is the time to learn how to dig into text to construct meaning and think critically. Rather than tackle the "Comprehension Smorgasbord" with a little bit of this and a little bit of that, we provide you with our tried and proven developmental progression that habitualises the mental strategies the good reader needs to process text. You will be amazed at what you learn about the way your readers are processing text.

SPECIAL PRICE (2 for 1) - $245 + GST
Includes 52 page workbook, sample resources and 12 months access to video teaching models from the workshop.


This product has been added to your cart